Welcome to my blog!

'Welcome, welcome, and may the odds be ever in your favor' - Effie Trinket, The Hunger Games.

 

In this blog I am going to write about my career aspirations. What it's like being a female engineer in a male dominating industry. What it's like being young and quite recently graduated from uni. What it's like being a first generation immigrant in Sweden, and managing the differences in cultures I daily encounter.

 

I am what some people refer to as a TCK - Third Culture Kid. If you google TCK, you will find that there actually has been a lot of research conducted in the area, mainly by a certain Dr. Ruth Useem. She was a psychologist who studied mainly American families who lived abroad in the 50's, e.g. such as diplomat families. Their children grew up in a country with a different culture than in their homes, and went to international schools. We are something of a cultural chameleon, since we absorbed all the cultures around us, and created something of a third cutlure within ourselves, hence the name.

 

I myself was born in China, and my parents likewise. We moved to Sweden when I was 4, and I grew up here, but attended a bilingual secondary school (high school). I lived and worked in China for a couple of years between 2008 and 2014, and now I'm about to take the first couple of steps into my new career path, finishing my second engineering master and working on moving my American boyfriend to Sweden. Career, feminism, diversification and sustainability are all topics close at heart to me. If they are to you too, I hope you'll continue to read my blog and add your own thoughts to it!

 

 

Kommentera här: